QUARANTINE FILES: LAUREN RAINFORD

QUARANTINE FILES: LAUREN RAINFORD

SPORT: Women's Basketball

POSITION: Guard/Forward

HOMETOWN: Toronto, ON

YEAR: 2nd

MAJOR: BA


Q: What's your daily routine like?

A: A typical day usually consists of an at home workout and a little bit of homework (and a nap). On nice days I like to go for walks around the city with my mom and do some reading outside.


Q: What are you doing to prepare for the 2020-21 season?

A: Going for runs around my neighbourhood or at a track and dribbling in my basement or backyard.


Q: What (creative) ways are you working on your skill development while at home?

A: Just getting together with my sister or a friend to make working out a bit more fun and social.


Q: What is your nutrition program like?

A: Definitely wouldn't call what i'm doing a program, but I will say that having a chef for a father has been pretty convenient during these times. Just trying to focus on staying healthy and getting in as many home cooked meals as I can before going back to school.


Q: How are you staying connected with teammates, friends and family?

A: FaceTime and texting/social media.


Q: When the anxiety of living during a pandemic gets to be overwhelming what do you do to get through it?

A: I usually like to go for walks or sit outside to get out of the house for a while, but I enjoy spending time with my family.


Q: What's something new you've been doing during this time?

A: I've been trying to read a lot more.


Q: What's the one thing you miss the most?

A: I miss being able to go out to eat with my friends and family and definitely miss being able to get in the gym with my team.


Q: What's your go-to binge-worthy TV show? Why?

A: Haven't binged a series in a while but I'll watch stand up comedy all day. Trevor Noah is definitely my go-to for comedy specials on Netflix.