Bailey Smith and Kameron Kielly named UPEI Athletes of the Year

Bailey Smith and Kameron Kielly named UPEI Athletes of the Year

Charlottetown, PEI (April 5, 2019)— UPEI's Department of Athletics and Recreation celebrated the 2018–19 season at the 50th annual UPEI Athletic Awards Gala on Friday, April 5, recognizing outstanding student-athletes who have excelled in sport, the classroom, and serving the community. This year, the UPEI Alumni Association's Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year award went to Bailey Smith, a sprinter on the UPEI Track and Field Team. The Male Athlete of the Year is Kameron Kielly of the UPEI Men's Hockey team.

The event, held at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel, included student-athletes, coaches, staff, along with members of the university community, alumni, donors, sponsors, and booster club supporters.

In addition to the Athlete of the Year awards, varsity team and competitive club awards were presented. The Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Rookie of the Year award winners from each team include (note that the MVP is listed first followed by Rookie of the Year):

Men's Soccer: Sam Smiley, Chris Sear
Women's Soccer: Amanda Stayner, Maddie Hurley
Women's Rugby: Anneke Dykerman, Brinten Comeau
Women's Field Hockey: Alyssa Ferguson and Hannah Gormley, Erica Penwell
Men's Hockey: Kameron Kielly, Doug Blaisdell
Women's Hockey: Camille Scherger, Jolena Gillard
Men's Basketball: Milorad Sedalervic, Jamesley Jerome
Women's Basketball: Jenna Mae Ellsworth and Carolina Del Santo
Cross Country (women): Michaela Walker, Tatiana Kelly
Cross Country (men): Nick Robertson, Nick Robertson
Women's Volleyball: Abbie Ronalds
Men's Rugby: Mark Lloyd, Blake Jurkowski
Track and Field (women): Bailey Smith, Nathalie Lane
Track and Field (men): Damon MacDonald, Mohammed Hamza

The W.A. Ledwell Award is presented annually to a student who has demonstrated outstanding athletic ability in the intercollegiate program, academic excellence, and the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, and citizenship. This year's recipient is Brent Andrews of the UPEI Men's Hockey team.

The Gordon and Muriel Bennett Award is presented to a male or female student athlete who, over four years, has best combined athletic achievement and academic excellence. This year's winner is Danielle Younker of UPEI Women's Soccer.

About the UPEI Athletes of the Year

Kameron Kielly is a centre on the UPEI Men's Hockey team and a second-year business student from Charlottetown, PEI. His 15 goals this season put him in third place for the scoring title in the AUS. Add his 28 assists, and he was also third for overall points. In just his second season, Kielly was named an AUS Second-Team All-Star. He was also named the U SPORTS Athlete of the Month for October.

Bailey Smitha sprinter on the UPEI Track and Field team, is a third-year nursing student from Mount Stewart, PEI. She was named the AUS Female Track Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row and won the silver medal at the U SPORTS Track & Field Championship in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Go Panthers Go!


Media contact: 
Ron Annear
UPEI Athletics and Recreation
(902) 566-0991,